Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Across nation: Arroyo son wins in Bicol; other Palace men fall

By Inquirer Visayas, Inquirer Northern Luzon, Inquirer Mindanao
Philippine Daily Inquirer
First Posted 04:01:00 05/13/2010

Filed Under: Inquirer Politics, Eleksyon 2010, Elections

Original Story:

MANILA, Philippines—President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s son was among the winners in Monday’s elections, but some of her allies and erstwhile Cabinet members were not as fortunate in the congressional and gubernatorial races.

The President was expected to be proclaimed Wednesday night as representative of Pampanga’s second district. She garnered 169,109 votes, swamping Filipinas Sampang (7,150), Feliciano Serrano (3,586) and Adonis Simpao (20,922), a final tally of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) showed.

The President’s son, Rep. Diosdado Ignacio “Dato” Arroyo, won overwhelmingly in his reelection bid against Fermin Mabulo, incumbent mayor of San Fernando town in Camarines Sur province.

Dato Arroyo garnered 69,104 votes while Mabulo had 26,133. The seven-town second district has a total number of 148,451 voters.

In 2007, Arroyo beat Mabulo’s older brother in the congressional race in the first district before a legislative reapportionment added a fifth district in the province.

Andaya win, Devanadera loss

Other winners in the congressional races in Camarines Sur were Ms Arroyo’s former Budget Secretary Rolando Andaya (first district) and House allies, Luis Villafuerte (third district) and Arnulfo Fuentebella (fourth district).

But the President’s erstwhile Justice Secretary Agnes Devanadera of Lakas-Kampi-CMD appeared headed for a resounding defeat in the congressional race in Quezon’s first district.

Based on a partial tally of the Comelec, reelectionist Rep. Mark Enverga (Nacionalista Party) got 84,857 votes while Devanadera received only 67,083.

Enverga is the son of three-term Gov. Wilfrido Enverga, who had also served as representative of the first district for nine years.

In Bacolod City’s mayoral race, Ms Arroyo’s close ally, Rep. Monico Puentevella (Lakas-Kampi-CMD), lost by more than 7,000 votes to the incumbent, Evelio Leonardia (Nationalist People’s Coalition).

Imelda’s brod loses

While the Marcoses in Ilocos Norte are celebrating their victory, the same mood could not be said of their kin in Tacloban City in Leyte province.

Alfredo “Bejo” Romualdez, younger brother of former first lady and now an elected congresswoman, Imelda Marcos, was trounced by his lone rival for the position of city vice mayor.

Based on the official count of the city board of canvassers, the 76-year-old Bejo (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino) obtained only 35,321 votes against reelectionist Vice Mayor Jose Arvin Antoni (Liberal Party), who received 38,731 or a difference of 3,410 votes.

However, Bejo’s son, Alfred, reelectionist city mayor, and daughter-in-law, Cristina, were proclaimed winners on Tuesday night. Alfred won by a landslide over his rival while Cristina landed No. 2 out of 38 candidates who sought council seats.

Osmeña party sweep

In Cebu City, Mayor Tomas Osmeña’s Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan (BOPK) dominated the elections when all of its candidates from representative for two districts, mayor, vice mayor, the city council won handily over their opponents.

Vice Mayor Michael Rama of the BOPK-LP beat former Mayor Alvin Garcia of Kugi Uswag Sugbo, which was affiliated with the Nacionalista Party (NP) in the mayoral race. Rama had 210,520 votes while Garcia had 120,327.

In Mandaue City, Mayor Jonas Cortes won his reelection bid against Rep. Nerissa Soon Ruiz of the sixth district. Cortes got 77,082 votes against Ruiz’s 59,815.

In the gubernatorial race, incumbent Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia was leading her closest opponent, Hilario Davide III, son of retired Supreme Court Chief Justice Hilario Davide Jr.

But Davide gave Garcia a good fight, winning in some of her bailiwicks.

Ampatuans leading?

Jailed Ampatuan patriarch Andal Sr. was slightly ahead in the vice gubernatorial race in Maguindanao with 122,561 votes against Ismael “Dustin” Mastura, who had 122,324, based on figures from the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV). Reports from Carla Gomez, Joey Gabieta, Jhunnex Napallacan, Felipe Celino, Elvie Roa, David Sinay, Nestor Burgos Jr. and Rachel Arnaiz, Inquirer Visayas; Delfin T. Mallari Jr., Juan Escandor Jr., Mar S. Arguelles and Jonas Cabiles Soltes, Inquirer Southern Luzon; and Frinston Lim, Orlando Dinoy, Richel Umel, Carlo Agamon, Tito Fiel, Ryan Rosauro, Julie Alipala, Cai Panlilio, JB Deveza, Grace Cantal-Albasin, Franklin Caliguid, Rosa May de Guzman, Edwin Fernandez and Charlie Señase, Inquirer Mindanao

Original Story:

No comments:

Post a Comment