Sunday, March 28, 2010

185 party-lists submit nominees to Comelec

March 28, 2010, 4:06pm

Original Story:

A total of 185 party-list groups Sunday submitted the list of their nominees to the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

The party-list groups are Cibac, A Teacher, Pacyaw, Aba Ilonggo, Buklod Filipina, APo, Alagad, Butil, Apec, Biyayang Bukid, SB, Bago, Aani, Bandila, Ang PDR, VFP, Agham, AFPSEGCO, Anakpawis, Cocofed, Aksi, Gabriela, Senior Citizens, Abono, Akma-PTM, Fil-Mus, 1Ganap, Kalinga, Ama, Anad, IVAP, Anakalusugan, Kasapi, Atong Paglaum, Abakada, Buhay, Katribu, ATM, Kabataan, Agap, Aba, AMS, Ag. Ame, Consla, LPGMA, 1-Ak, At, Abp-Bicolnon, Arcapp, As, Agbiag, Firm 24-k, Agila, Agri, Bukid, Diwa, Green Force, Amang, Yes We Can, ATS, Awat, Aama, Uni-Mad, PM (manggagawa), FFW, Amin, Abroad, Lypad, Abang Lingkod Inc., Alna, Ang Kasangga, Abakada, Alim, Sabod, Alum, Aki, Alma, Akbayan, Cofa, Ahon, Bida, Aral and Anak.

Among the known personalities included on the list of nominees are resigned Energy secretary Angelo Reyes, the top nominee of 1-UTAK, former police general Romeo Maganto is named as nominee of Sagip while Bantay has Ma. Evangelina Palparan, wife of Rep. Jovito Palparan.

Records showed that Energy Undersecretary Zamsamin Ampatuan, who belongs to the Ampatuan clan of Maguindanao, is the nominee of Anak.

Bayan, along with poll watchdog group Kontra Daya, that monitored the last day of filing of the nominees at the Comelec office in Intramuros, Manila, meantime, expressed dismay with the nominees of some party-list groups, claiming it only proves beyond doubt that the party-list system is being abused by the politically and economically influential in the country.

“From the initial list of nominees, we can certainly say that the party-list system is being routinely abused by politicians, big business interests, high-ranking military officials and Palace allies. It is lamentable that it has come to this. Comelec is partly to blame because it has allowed the party-list system to be taken advantage of over the years,” claimed Bayan secretary general Renato M. Reyes Jr.

It can be recalled that the group earlier questioned the nomination of Pampanga Rep. Mikey Arroyo by the Ang Galing Pinoy Party-list.

The group is also questioning the nominees of PACYAW, APO, ABONO, Aangat Tayo, ANG KASANGGA, ALE, and KABAYAN because of their alleged association with the Arroyo administration. PACYAW counts as its nominees Tourism Asst. Secretary Janet Lazatin and businessman Reynaldo Pineda, both allies of Arroyo from Pampanga. APO party-list has former Ilocos congressman Salacnib Baterina as its first nominee.

ABONO has Robert Raymund Estrella and Franciso Ortega III, who hail from the prominent Estrella and Ortega political clans allied with the administration. Aangat Tayo’s nominee, Rep. Daryl Grace Abayon is the wife of Rep. Harlin Castillo Abayon (Lakas) of Northern Samar.

ANG KASANGGA’s first nominee is businessman Teodorico T. Haresco who, as one website says, “is primarily known for his involvement in the President's Bridge Program a sustained infrastructure and fast-track rural development project spanning over 14 years.”

ALE has Pampanga provincial board member, businesswoman and known Arroyo ally Catalina Bagasina as its first nominee while Office of the President special assistant Erlinda De Leon is its second nominee.

Party-list group KABAYAN has Palace exec Ron Salo as first nominee. Salo was undersecretary under the Office of the Executive Secretary of Eduardo Ermita in 2009 Salo was with the Presidential Legislative Liaison Office before moving to the OES.

Original Story:

No comments:

Post a Comment