Monday, December 21, 2009

Jinggoy tops Senate race; Serge joins Erap ticket


Original Story:

Currently leading the senatorial race is Sen. Jinggoy Estrada, who obtained an overall voter preference of 55.1 percent, a Pulse Asia survey showed. Following closely is Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. (52.7 percent). In third place is Sen. Miriam Santiago (51.4 percent). Fourth place went to former Sen. Franklin Drilon (48.4 percent).

Sen. Pia Cayetano (43.1 percent) and former National Economic and Development Authority (Neda) Director-General Ralph Recto (43.1 per-cent) were tied for fifth and sixth place. Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile landed in seventh place with 42.7 percent and former Senators Sergio Osmena lll and Vicente Sotto (both with 40.2 percent) were tied for eighth and ninth place.

Ilocos Norte Rep. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. (31 percent) was in 10th place, and Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto TG Guingona III (28.6 percent) in 11th. Rounding up the list of probable winners are Jose “Joey” de Venecia (24.3 percent), Sen. Manuel “Lito” Lapid (23.1 percent), and Muntinlupa Rep. Rozzano Rufino “Ruffy” Biazon (22.9 percent), who were tied for 12th to 14th places.

Meanwhile, the Liberal Party lost former Sen. Serge Osmena to the Erap-Binay team.

The powerhouse Erap-Binay opposition tandem for the 2010 national elections cemented its reputation as the team to beat following the entry of Senator Osmeña as a guest candidate of former President Joseph Estrada’s Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino (PMP) party.

The inclusion of Osmeña, who left the official line-up of the LP in protest against the acceptance of former Neda chief Ralph Recto into its senatorial slate, brought to 11 Estrada’s bets for senator.

Estrada’s spokesman, Margaux Salcedo, said Osmeña’s entry could only strengthen the ranks of the United Opposition (UNO) which was already brimming with entrants eager to support President Estrada’s programs and advocacies.

“We welcome Senator Osmeña, knowing that the UNO and the PMP will benefit immensely from his legislative experience and his unquestionable capacity to address pressing national issues,” Salcedo said. “This is a perfect partnership, one we know will lead to victory not just for our candidates, but for the poor who have pinned their hopes on those whom they know truly have their interests and welfare in mind.”

The Erap-Binay senatorial slate now includes Enrile; Jinggoy Estrada; Senators Santiago and Revilla, Jr.; former Senators Francisco “Kit” Tatad and Osmeña; Rep. Rodolfo Plaza; Rep. JV.Bautista; former Rep. Apolinario “Jun” Lozada; Gen. Danny Lim; and NBN-ZTE whistle-blower Joey de Venecia.

Estrada and his running mate, Makati Mayor Jojo Binay, have been receiving rousing welcomes in all the places he has visited in recent weeks, which include Laguna, Batangas, Camarines Norte and Catanduanes.

He has been joined in his sorties by Enrile, Tatad, Plaza, Bautista and Lozada, all of whom ably expounded on their individual platforms and advocacies.

In the latest Pulse Asia survey six of the 11 Erap Senate bets made the list of top twelve winners namely: Enrile, Jinggoy, Defensor-Santiago, Revilla, Osmeña and De Venecia.

Original Story:

No comments:

Post a Comment