Wednesday, December 23, 2009

SWS says Noynoy-Mar remains team to beat

December 22, 2009, 6:21pm

Original Story:

The Liberal Party’s Aquino-Roxas tandem continues to maintain a solid lead in a pre-election survey conducted by the Social Weather Stations (SWS) last December 5 to 10.

In results released Tuesday, the presidential survey found that Aquino garnered 46 percent of the electoral votes, followed by Manuel Villar Jr. with 27 percent. On third place was former President Joseph Estrada with 16 percent.

In the vice presidential race, Roxas gained 43 percent of the voters’ nod, followed by Senator Loren Legarda with 32 percent. Presented with a list of prominent individuals, 2,100 respondents were asked to name who they will vote for as President of the Philippines if elections were held today.

From the list of 11 presidential hopefuls, 46 percent chose Aquino, Villar (27 percent), Estrada (16 percent), Lakas-Kampi-CMD standard bearer Gilberto Teodoro Jr. (5 percent), spiritual leader Bro. Eddie Villanueva ( 1 percent), Senator Richard Gordon (1 percent), Senator Jamby Madrigal (0.2 percent), lawyer Oliver Lozano (0.1 percent), Mario Crespo (0.1 percent), John Carlos delos Reyes (0.1 percent), and Jesus Nicanor Perlas (0.03 percent).

For the preferred vice-president, the question asked was: Among the names found in this list, who will you probably vote for as vice-president of the Philippines, if elections were held today?

The respondents chose Roxas (43 percent) followed by Legarda (32 percent), Makati City Mayor Jejomar Binay (10 percent), actor Eduardo Manzano (3 percent), former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Bayani Fernando (2 percent), journalist Jay Sonza (0.3 percent), and former Securities and Exchange Commission chief Perfecto Yasay (0.1 percent).

In the Senate race, Senators Miriam Defensor Santiago, Ramon Revilla Jr., and Jinggoy Estrada led the 12 preferred senatorial bets.

The first 12 individuals in the line-up include three candidates from the Liberal Party, two from Lakas-Kampi-CMD, two from Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino, one each from the People’s Reform Party, Nacionalista Party, Nationalist People’s Coalition, and Kilusang Bagong Lipunan, and one independent.

In the list of 66 names shown to the respondents, Santiago (PRP) was chosen by 55 percent of the respondents, followed by Revilla (Lakas-Kampi-CMD) with 54 percent, and Estrada (PMP) with 53 percent.

Also in the list were Pilar Juliana Cayetano (NP), 48 percent; former Senate President Franklin Drilon (LP), 47 percent; Former National Economic Development Authority chief Ralph Recto (LP), 44 percent; former Senator Vicente Sotto III (NPC) 40 percent, Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile (PMP) 37 percent, Ilocos Norte Rep. Ferdinand Marcos Jr. (KBL) 32 percent, former Senator Sergio OsmeƱa III (Independent) 31 percent, Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto Guingona III (LP) 24 percent, and Senator Manuel Lapid (Lakas-Kampi-CMD) 23 percent.

The fourth quarter SWS survey, conducted with Businessworld, used face-to-face interviews with an error margin of ±2.2 percent.

Original Story:

No comments:

Post a Comment